Be Careful While Sharing Private Photos on WhatsApp; A Bug Detected

commas-left

Are you fond of WhatsApp and sharing your pictures regularly?

If yes, it might affect you.

There is one bug detected by Graham Cluley, a UK-based security researcher, leading strangers checking-out your photos that you shared with your contacts.

commas-right

WhatsApp A Bug Detected

If you spend your lots of time on the most popular IM WhatsApp, then this could concern you as sharing photos on this application is not safe anymore.

Recently, a new bug has been detected by Graham Cluley, a UK-based security researcher, who said the privacy flaw appeared with WhatsApp’s newly introduced web interface. The bug that has been detected may lead strangers checking-out your photos that you shared with your contacts.

Cluley wrote on his blog, “17-year-old security researcher Indrajeet Bhuyan has discovered a privacy hole in WhatsApp that could expose your account’s profile photo to complete strangers, even if you have set it to be viewable to Contacts Only.”

He also added, “Sure, it’s not the most serious privacy breach that has ever occurred, but that’s missing the point. The expectation (of users) is that WhatsApp will only allow their photos to be viewable by those who the user has approved.”

Users are able to set WhatsApp in a way that it only shares their profile photo with all those people, who they have set as contacts, but this bug allows other people to get around that and successfully check the profile photos of strangers.

Related Blog: WhatsApp Soon to Introduce Its Desktop Version WhatsAppWeb

A recently released WhatsApp Web enables users to access the service in a browser, but it is not an actual web service. He/she needs to get a smart-phone with WhatsApp install in it, if a user is looking forward for using WhatsApp on the web.

WhatsApp had said, “Today, for the first time, millions of you will have the ability to use WhatsApp on your web browser. Our web client is simply an extension of your phone: the web browser mirrors conversations and messages from your mobile device — this means all of your messages still live on your phone.”

In this below given video, you can see how account’s profile photo can be viewed by complete strangers, even if you have set it to be viewable to Contacts Only:

Keep visiting our blog for more information on latest news and top stories of technologies and web solutions. www.perceptionsystem.com

Contact Us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*